May 12, 2022

Daily ChairJohn Lloyd FNI, CEO The Nautical Institute

07:00-08:00 | OPENING COFFEE

Sponsored by

07:30-08:00 | Registration
08:00-08:10 | Welcoming Address

Captain Rich Marriott AFNI
Chair – Nautical Institute British Columbia Branch

08:10-08:20 | Opening Address

Jillian Carson-Jackson FNI
President, Nautical Institute

08:20-08:40 | Welcome

Keynote speaker to be confirmed

08:40-09:00 | Canadian Coast Guard Arctic Region

Neil O’Rourke
Assistant Commissioner
Arctic Region – CCG

09:00-0920 | Transport Canada

Todd Frederickson 
A/Director Marine Safety & Security
Transport Canada Prairie and Northern Region

09:20-10:00 | Joint Task Force North view on Maritime Arctic challenges

Commander JTFN 
to be confirmed

10:00-10:20 | COFFEE

sponsored by

10:20-10:40 | USCG in Alaska, Meeting Future Maritime Arctic Challenges

Commander USCG D17 Alaska

10:40-11:40 | Arctic Maritime Security – Civil and Military Nexus


Moderator Troy Bouffard

Becca Pincus
United States War College

Whitney Lackenbauer
Trent University 

Rob Huebert
University of Alberta

Adam Lajeunesse
St. Francis Xavier University

12:00-13:00 | LUNCH

Sponsored by Martech Polar Consulting Ltd.

13:00-13:30 | Providing the right ice information for mariners


Moderator John Falkingham
Secretary International Ice Charting Working Group

John Parker 
Canadian Ice Service   

Keld Qvistgaard
Danish Maritime Institute

Cdr Casey Gon 
United States National Ice Center 

Pascale Bourbonais
Fednav Ice Services to be confirmed

13:30-14:00 | Update on Arctic hydrography

Chris Marshall 
Canadian Hydrographic Services

14:00-14:30 | The Future CCG Arctic Fleet

Commander Derek Moss
Senior Director Fleet CCG

14:30-15:00 | COFFEE

sponsored by

15:00-15:30 | Future designs Polar ships – Aker’s vision for Arctic container ships

Rob Hindley 
Aker Arctic

15:30-16:00 | The new PC2 Icebreaking Cruise Vessel “Le Commandant Charcot”

Jukka Salminen CBP
Aker Arctic

16:00-16:30 | Arctic Designs and future Plans

Derek Buxton 

16:00-16:30 | Japan’s New Icebreaking Research ship

Speaker to be confirmed
MOL Japan

16:00-16:30 | Building Canada’s Polar Icebreaker

Russell Davison

16:30-16:45 | Daily/Conference Chair Summation
17:00-18:00 | NO HOST BAR
18:00-21:00 | DINNER | Speaker Captain John Lloyd

Dinner Speaker: The Nautical Institute – Captain John Lloyd
CEO The Nautical Institute

MAY 13, 2022

Daily Chair: Captain David (Duke) Snider FNI

07:30-08:00 | OPENING COFFEE

Sponsored by

08:00-08:10 |Day's Opening Remarks

Captain David (Duke) Snider FNI

08:10-09:10 | Women in the Arctic

Panel – Moderator Jillian Carson-Jackson FNI, NI President

Suzanne Paquin

Commander Kristen Serumgard

Speaker to be confirmed
CCGS Icebreaker CO TBC

Capt Hanna Kujala
Ice Navigator Martech Polar

09:10-10:10 | Shipping Panel-What are the future Arctic Challenges and Opportunities

Moderator: RADM Nigel Greenwood

Tim Kean
VP Operations, Fednav

Chris King

Eric Chamberlin/Keith Taylor
Holland America – Seabourn

Suzanne Paquin

Terry Camsell
Fathom Marine

Speaker to be confirmed
Schuyler Line Navigation TBC

10:10-10:40 | COFFEE

sponsored by

10:40-11:15 | Panel-Training and Certification for the Arctic Marine Environment – Continuous Learning

Moderator Bridget Hogan
Publisher, The Nautical Institute

Chris Hearn
Director, Centre for Marine Simulation, St. John’s

James Leutchford NI
Nautical Institute Accreditation 

Speaker to be confirmed
Western Marine Training Institute

Keith Taylor, SVP Operations
Holland America – Seabourn

11:15-11:45 | Panel-From the Bridge

Moderator LCdr Angus Fedoruk

Captain Ivan Oxford 

Captain Victor Gronmyr 
Martech Polar Ice Navigator

Speaker to be confirmed
Passenger ship Master 

Speaker to be confirmed

Captain Bill Woityra

11:45-13:00 | LUNCH
13:00-13:30 | AOPS Operations – Looking back at RCN’s first operational AOPS Arctic voyage

Speaker to be confirmed

13:30-14:00 | USCG Polar Ice Operations – Looking back at Polar Star’s historic return to the Arctic

Captain Bill Woityra 

14:00-14:30 | COFFEE

sponsored by

15:00-15:30 | TBD
15:30-16:00 | TBD

 Melissa Nacke

16:00-16:45 | Closing Comments

Captain Rich Marriott
Chair NIBC

Pricing & Registration

Register online for the 2022 conference.  All major credit cards are accepted through our secure, online payment system.  No PayPal account is required.

Conference Sponsors

Thank you to all of our generous sponsors.  Together they make our conferences possible.

Sponsor the Conference

Several opportunities are available to help you achieve your specific objectives and enhance your outreach at this international event. Regardless of your budget, we have an opportunity that will fulfill your requirements and ensure an excellent return on investment.